Der Beginn der Reise 1880

Otto Dahl’s Amerikareise – Teil 1

Die eigentliche Veranlassung zu dieser Reise gab eine heftige Auseinandersetzung mit meinem Vater, der mir dabei kurz und bündig erklärte, ich solle, wie mein jüngerer Bruder Rudolf, ebenfalls nach Amerika gehen und mein Brot bei fremden Leuten verdienen. Es galt als ausgemacht, daß die Dahls „dicke Köppe“ haben. Ohne ein weiteres Wort zu erwidern, beschloß ich, dieser Aufforderung das väterliche Haus zu verlassen, sobald wie möglich Folge zu leisten.

    Mit dem Vertreter des „Norddeutschen Lloyd“ in Bremen machte ich den am 5. Dezember 1880 von Bremerhaven abfahrenden Dampfer „Donau“ für meine Überfahrt aus. Etwa 14 Tage vorher trat mein Vater eine Geschäftsreise nach Süddeutschland an, wobei ich vorher noch einmal eine sehr ernste Unterredung mit ihm hatte, in deren Verlauf er mir den Eintritt ins Geschäft als Teilhaber in Aussicht stellte. Ich blieb indes bei meinem Entschluß, von dessen Ausführung ich eine Bereicherung meiner technischen Kenntnisse in der Leder-zubereitung erhoffte. Mein Vater wollte noch vor meiner auf den 4. Dezember festgesetzten Abreise wieder von seiner Geschäftsreise zurück sein. Jedoch verzögerte sich seine Rückehr – ich sollte ihn nicht wiedersehen.

    Am 4. Dezember bestieg ich am alten Barmer Bahnhof den um 10 Uhr 7 Min. nach Bremen abfahrenden Zug nach frohem Abschied von Verwandten und Freunden, die mich zum Bahnhof begleitet hatten. Als ich an dem Fabrikgrundstück in den Höfen vorbeifuhr, winkte mir mein ältester Bruder Adolf zum Abschied, während seine riesige Dogge, Cäsar, laut bellend an der Bahnhecke dem Zuge eine Strecke entlang lief. Um 6 Uhr nachmittags traf ich in Bremen ein, wo ich im Hotel Schaper Wohnung nahm. Abends suchte ich den „Bremer Ratskeller“ auf, um in den mir schon von früheren Reisen wohlbekannten gemütlichen Räumen einen Abschiedstrunk zu genießen und auf einigen Postkarten nochmals Abschied von lieben Freunden zu nehmen.

3 thoughts on “Der Beginn der Reise 1880

  1. Becky good sagt:

    This is fascinating to me. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. Laura Herr sagt:

    Hi Sybille! My name is Laura – a friend of Ursula’s – and I think we will meet when you get to Bozeman! My heritage is Getman. My grandparents came to New York from Bremen around 1920. I think what you are doing is wonderful and adventurous!

    1. Sibylle sagt:

      Hi Laura!
      Ursula has already wrote me about you – I am looking forward very much to meet in Bozeman!
      Thank you so much!
      Sibylle

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

Start of the journey 1880

Otto Dahl’s journey to Amerika, Part 1

The actual motive for this journey was a severe dispute with my father, who told me shortly and succinctly that I should go to America and to earn my bread from foreign people, just like my younger brother Rudolf. It was agreed upon, that the Dahls were pigheads. Without answering, I decided to obey to the request to leave the father’s house at the soonest possible.

With an agent from the North German Lloyd, I agreed upon the steamship “Donau” leaving Bremerhaven on the 5th of December 1880 for my crossing. About 14 days before, my father left for a business trip to southern Germany, but before we had a serious conversation, during which he promised me the entrance to the business as a partner. Meanwhile, I held on to my decision, during which I hoped to increase my technical knowledge of the leather preparation.  My father wanted to be back before my departure scheduled on December 4th. However, his return was delayed – I should not see him again.

On December 4th, I boarded the train leaving at 10:07 to Bremen after a happy goodbye from realtives and friends, who had accompanied me to the station. When I passed the company’s grounds in “the Höfen”, my older brother Adolf waved goodbye while his big boarhound Cäsar ran by the train barking loudly. I arrived in Bremen o the afternoon at six and checked in at the Hotel Schaper. In the evening I went to the “Bremer Ratskeller” to enjoy a parting drink in the cozy rooms which I knew from previous travels and to say goodbye to beloved friends on some postcards.

3 thoughts on “Start of the journey 1880

  1. Becky good says:

    This is fascinating to me. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. Laura Herr says:

    Hi Sybille! My name is Laura – a friend of Ursula’s – and I think we will meet when you get to Bozeman! My heritage is Getman. My grandparents came to New York from Bremen around 1920. I think what you are doing is wonderful and adventurous!

    1. Sibylle says:

      Hi Laura!
      Ursula has already wrote me about you – I am looking forward very much to meet in Bozeman!
      Thank you so much!
      Sibylle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *